Frequently Asked Questions

 

Ground Kicks (Incidental)

Q: The ball came directly from a player’s foot but no ground kick was awarded. Why?

A: There must be clear intent from the player for a ground kick to be awarded. If the kick was unintentional or clearly incidental, then no ground kick will be awarded. The ball must also travel a certain distance for a ground kick to be credited. The only exception to this rule is if a goal is awarded to the player that makes contact with the ball, in this case a ground kick will be paid.

Vision Example: No ground kick is awarded to Patrick Dangerfield (#35) after he makes incidental contact with the ball with his right foot.

Missed Tackle (Broken Tackle)

Q: The player clearly made physical contact with the opponent but no tackle was awarded. Why?

A: If a player is being impeded by an opponent and then breaks the attempted tackle to get a disposal away, then no tackle will be awarded.

Vision Example: Firstly, Jack Lonie (#13) has a missed tackle on Tom Williamson (#31). Tim Membrey then makes physical contact with Williamson, however, he breaks Membrey’s tackle attempt and has an effective handball to Sam Docherty (#15).

Tackles

Q: What if there is more than one player applying a tackle?

A: After a tackle has been applied, if a second player or a third player (and so on) from the same team arrive and also apply a tackle and they have an impact on the ball carrier, then they’ll get awarded with a tackle too. If they don’t impact the ball carrier, then they won’t get paid a tackle.

Vision Example: Callum Ah Chee (#4) applied the initial tackle on Jason Johannisen before Oscar McInerney (#46) makes physical contact with Ah Chee. McInerney didn’t impact the player in possession and hence, he wasn’t credited with a tackle.

No Tackle

Q: A player was tackled as they disposed of the ball. Why wasn’t a tackle awarded? 

A: If a player attempts to tackle a player in the act of disposing of the ball, and that disposal is deemed to be effective, then no tackle will be awarded. If it leads to an ineffective disposal or a clanger disposal, or prevent a disposal, then a tackle shall be awarded. The defensive player is credited with a tackle attempt.

Vision Example: Cameron Guthrie (#29) isn’t awarded a tackle after Dean Kent (#25) has an effective handball to Hunter Clark (#11).

Smothered Disposals

Q: Why does a disposal sometimes get paid where there is a smother but not always?

A: If the ball is immediately smothered by the defending player, then no disposal shall be awarded. If the attacking player was able to get a disposal away before the defending player deflected the trajectory of the disposal, then a disposal shall be awarded.

Vision Example: No disposal is awarded to Jaeger O’Meara (#10) after his kick was directly smothered by Tim Kelly (#11).

Vision Example: The kick is awarded to Tim Taranto (#14) after Luke Parker (#26) smothers the disposal and changes the trajectory.

Score Assists

Q: A player took an uncontested mark from a teammate’s kicks and kicked a goal. Why was no score assist awarded?

A: A score assist is only awarded from an effective disposal. In a case where a player misdirects a kick and it finds an unintended, uncontested target through luck no score assist will be awarded.

Vision Example: Tom Liberatore (#21) has a shot at goal and Bailey Dale (#31) grabs an uncontested mark. Liberatore’s shot at goal was deemed to be ineffective, and as a result, he doesn’t get credited with a score assist.

Hitouts

Q: A ruck wins a hitout straight to a teammate who takes possession, a free kick has been paid in the ruck contest and an advantage was called. Does the ruckman still get a hitout?

A: In this instance, the free kick and advantage are paid and the hitout/hitout-to-advantage and midfielders possession don’t get paid.

Disposals after the siren

Q: What if a player has a disposal after the siren has sounded, does it count? 

A: The game or quarter doesn’t officially end until the umpire acknowledges the siren by blowing the whistle and signalling the end of the quarter. All disposals executed before the umpire’s whistle will be included, regardless of whether the siren has sounded. Once the siren has sounded a disposal will only be recorded if a player has a genuine and realistic set shot for goal. If the player has taken the mark or won a free-kick and was having an unrealistic attempt at a shot at goal, then no disposal will be awarded. Also if an umpire deems a player has run off his line while having the shot no disposal will be recorded.

In-Game/Post-Game Editing

Q: Why do some of the stats change during/post-game?

A: Match edits are made on the fly and during all period breaks (quarter-time, half-time, and three-quarter-time). There is also a 20-minute window post-game where the game is reviewed and as a result, some of the stats may change.